Past Winners | Peace Science Society (International)

Past Winners

Founders' Medal Winners

2017: Nils Petter Gleditsch, PRIO
2013: Dina Zinnes, University of Illinois
2009: Bruce Russett, Yale University
2005: Walter Isard, Cornell University
2001: J. David Singer, University of Michigan

Isard Award Winners

2020: Carly Wayne, University of Michigan
2018: Megan A. Stewart, Georgetown University
2016: Anita R. Gohdes, University of Mannheim
2014: Joshua Kertzer, Ohio State University
2012: Paul Poast, University of Michigan
2010: Bernd Beber, Columbia University
2008: Todd Sechser, Stanford University
2006: Patricia Sullivan, UC Davis
2004: Stephen Shellman, Florida State University
2002: Jaroslav Tir, University of Illinois
2000: Mark Crescenzi, University of Illinois
1998: Brett Ashley Leeds, Emory University
1996: Paul Hensel, University of Illinois; and Kelly Kadera, University of Illinois
1994: Doug Lemke, Vanderbilt University

Bremer Award Winners

2020: Roya Izadi, Binghamton University
2019: Rachel Myrick, Stanford University
2018: Howard Liu, Duke University
2017: Kaitlyn Webster, Duke University
2016: Matthew Nanes, University of California, San Diego
2015: William Wagstaff, Emory University
2014: Daniel McCormack, University of Texas, Austin
2013: Roseanne McManus, University of Wisconsin
2012: Yuri Zhukov, Harvard University
2011: Yonatan Lupu, University of California, San Diego
2010: Nils Metternich, University of Essex; Julian Wucherpfennig, ETH Zurich
2009: Jeff Carter, Pennsylvania State University
2008: Bernd Beber, Columbia University
2007: Jun Xiang, University of Rochester
2006: David Carter, University of Rochester
2005: Peter Rudloff, University of Illinois
2004: Stephen Gent, University of Rochester

Palmer Prize

2020: Michael Kalin and Niloufer Siddiqui. "National Identity, Religious Tolerance, and Group Conflict: Insights from a Survey Experiment in Pakistan." Conflict Management and Peace Science. 37(1): 58-82.

2019: Kimberly Frugé, Florida State University for "Repressive Agent Defections: How Power, Costs, and Uncertainty Influence Military Behavior and State Repression." Conflict Management and Peace Science, 36(6): 591-607

2018: Carla Martinez Machain and Leo Rosenberg, Kansas State University for "Domestic Diversion and Strategic Behavior by Minority Groups." Conflict Management and Peace Science, 35(5) 427-450.

2017: Clayton Thyne, University of Kentucky for "The Impact of coups d'état on civil war duration." Conflict Management and Peace Science, 34(3) 287-307.

2016: Lisa Hultman, Uppsala University; Jacob Kathman, University at Buffalo - SUNY; and Megan Shannon, University of Colorado - Boulder for "United Nations peacekeeping dynamics and the duration of post-civil conflict peace." Conflict Management and Peace Science, Vol. 33(3) 231-249.

2015: Martin Steinwand, Stony Brook University for "Foreign Aid and Political Stability." Conflict Management and Peace Science, Vol. 32(4) 395-424.

Will H. Moore III Prize

2019: Bradley E. Holland, University of Hawaii, Hilo and Viridiana Rios, Harvard University for "Informally Governing Information: How Criminal Rivalry leads to Violence against the Press in Mexico." Journal of Conflict Resolution, 61(5).